“Starlit Bride”


 

The Beloved ('The Bride') 1865-6 Dante Gabriel Rossetti 1828-1882 Purchased with assistance from Sir Arthur Du Cros Bt and Sir Otto Beit KCMG through the Art Fund 1916 http://www.tate.org.uk/art/work/N03053
The Beloved (‘The Bride’) 1865-6 Dante Gabriel Rossetti 1828-1882
“Starlit Bride”
Now, as I gaze upon bright stars, remote
and marvel at their majesty,  delight
returns to you again for there I dote
upon another incandescent light.
 
You are my luminescent, brightest orb;
your glow astounds the dark.  A burning sight,
your spark a universe I would explore
before the sun should scatter all our night.
 
Our lamp holds oil enough for this short life
my darling wife, whose love retrieves me from
a dark and lonely song; sad herald’s strife;
 lackluster,  ’til we’re in our final home.
As you sleep, a thousand stars may hover;
your light more splendid than our starlit cover.
 

4 thoughts on ““Starlit Bride”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.