I Saw You in a Cloud-bank


cropped-lovebirds4-best-23.jpg
Photo by J. Casey

I saw you in a cloud-bank,
but lost you in the sky.
Your wondrous face too fragile
as winds did buffet by.
Still, memory has such value
unto my searching eyes.
I know that I have lost you
and makes me want to cry.

I heard two morning dove’s song
outside my window sigh
And when the wind did buffet them
they also said ‘goodbye’.
Still, for my missing songsters,
I sense they may return.
But Johnny, I have lost you
and still, the yearning burns.

I know a star in heaven;
And Johnny is his name.
And when I was not heeding
he wandered from our game.
And when the fields are crowded
with baseball players, fine,
I want to be his catcher’s mitt
for he’s a friend of mine.

My story has no moral:
I have a missing friend.
His name I know is Johnny

the yearning never ends.
And when my mournful say
accompanied with tears
shall meet with my old lover,
I hope it’s he who hears.
Grant that repentance solemn
may seize upon his mind.
Still, hope and consolation
among those fields we find.

 

2 thoughts on “I Saw You in a Cloud-bank

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.